Praise for AS LONG AS WE BOTH SHALL LIVE:

“The pleasure of As Long As We Both Shall Live is that Chaney’s…on the run too, a half-step ahead of us.” ―The New York Times Book Review

“Let’s just say this twisty, noir-soaked book, which will appeal to fans of Megan Abbott and Laura Lippman (not to mention James M. Cain), makes a cutting statement about the plight of even the most feminist wives….There’s never a point in which Chaney doesn’t have you in the palm of her hand.” ―Chicago Tribune

“A really satisfying domestic suspense marriage thriller in the Liane Moriarty tradition….A great beach reach.” ―New York Times Book Review podcast

“Unputdownable...This novel is anything but predictable. The female characters are forces of nature, and the plot twists are deliciously demented, a la Gone Girl andBig Little Lies.”
People

“Chaney grabs readers with her opening line: ‘If you try to kill your wife without a plan, you will fail.’…Marriage laid bare, with a riveting account of evasion and pursuit―and a zinger of a coda.” ―Bookliststarred review

Far more than a typical murder mystery. From the first propulsive line, ‘If you try to kill your wife without a plan you will fail,’ to the stunning conclusion, the reader is swept along in a twisting, turning journey that is as much a treatise on marriage as on murder.” ―Mystery Scene

"Chaney alternates past and present, creating an unbearably urgent narrative, and she has a shockingly firm grasp on the barbs and ennui of long-term marriage. A perfectly paced, shock-studded chiller from an author to watch." Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This book is a wicked page-turner, dripping in dark humor, and a hell of a ride you won’t realize you are on until it’s too late to get off. So strap-in, and read this before anyone spoils the fun.”
―BookRiot

“The perfect beach read, a multiple-murder and suspense saga that will keep readers engrossed and guessing."
BookPage

“This twisty thriller will keep your heart rate elevated right up to the final page.”
Bookish

“We credit Chaney in particular for giving us two great female characters―one detective and one victim (who may be much more than that).”
―PureWow

Praise for WHAT YOU DON'T KNOW:

“Striking…In this perverse first novel, the exploits of a murderer are viewed from three perspectives: that of his wife, who still loves him; that of a journalist, who made her career because of him; and that of a police detective who is still obsessed with him.”
New York Times Book Review (Best and Latest in Crime Fiction)

“One of the most well-written thrillers I've ever read."
―BookRiot

"Superb characters, sparkling dialogue, and a gripping, terrifying plot, plus flashes of humor to boot; this book has it all. It's very hard to believe this is Ms. Chaney's first novel." 
--Chris Pavone, New York Times bestselling author of The Travelers

"JoAnn Chaney's book, mysterious with all that is concealed and undeclared, compels the reader to acknowledge that things are not as simple as we like to believe, and to recognize that evil does not always lay outside of us, but deep within us. Chaney's psychological insights and social perceptions are infallible--brutal, indignant, and full of surprise." 
--Susanna Moore, bestselling author of Paradise of the Pacific

"In What You Don't Know, JoAnn Chaney beautifully analyzes the effect a monster can have on those in their orbit and how, in the need to catch one, so much is revealed about the monsters we hide in ourselves. A masterclass in character study, a beautifully woven story, and truly chilling at its core, this is a literary crime novel not to be missed!"
--Sarah Pinborough, author of Behind Her Eyes

"A taut thriller...Richly drawn and vividly imagined characters...Tense, compelling greatness. Chaney is an author to watch."
--Library Journal

"Unusually thoughtful...Relies more on character studies than gory details...It's the escalating psychological tension and the interactions of three-dimensional characters that lift this well above the serial-killer norm."
--Kirkus

"Well-drawn characters...a thrilling read in the tradition of Jeffery Deaver's The Bone Collector." 
--Booklist

"Unsettling, well-crafted...All of the point-of-view characters are tragically flawed in believable ways."
--Publishers Weekly

"This outstanding dark debut . . . paints an absorbing, graphic portrait of the dangers of getting too close to evil, and is breathtaking from first page to the last." --Daily Mail